Remote Desktop Software

User avatar
scole of TSBT
Boinc Major General
Boinc Major General
Posts: 5529
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 2:38 pm
Location: Goldsboro, (Eastern) North Carolina, USA
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 20 times

#1 Remote Desktop Software

Post by scole of TSBT »

Teamviewer stopped letting us use their product for personal use
Now Anydesk won't allow me to continue to use their product for personal use. I made my case to sales rep and waiting for a response but I doubt they'll let me continue to use it.

So now I'm giving nomachine a try. It has Windows and Linux flavors. The only drawback so far is I can't remote into any of your systems unless you map a port through your firewall.
Image
davidbam
General Bitchin'
General Bitchin'
Posts: 6023
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 1:15 pm
Location: Huntly, Scotland
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 67 times
Contact:

#2 Re: Remote Desktop Software

Post by davidbam »

aww shit
I think this is fool-proof but could you just try it for me please? • There are 10 types of people in the world; those who understand binary, and those who don’t
Image
User avatar
scole of TSBT
Boinc Major General
Boinc Major General
Posts: 5529
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 2:38 pm
Location: Goldsboro, (Eastern) North Carolina, USA
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 20 times

#3 Re: Remote Desktop Software

Post by scole of TSBT »

nomachine works pretty well. For those using Anydesk to connect to systems locally, I would recommend switching to nomachine. One big advantage of nomachine for local computer access is if you are having internet issues you can still connect to your computers. With teamviewer and Anydesk, if you don't have internet access you can't remote in to a computer
Image
User avatar
Dirk Broer
Corsair
Corsair
Posts: 1687
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: Leiden, South Holland, Netherlands
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 34 times
Contact:

#4 Re: Remote Desktop Software

Post by Dirk Broer »

I use PuTTY
Image
User avatar
scole of TSBT
Boinc Major General
Boinc Major General
Posts: 5529
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 2:38 pm
Location: Goldsboro, (Eastern) North Carolina, USA
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 20 times

#5 Re: Remote Desktop Software

Post by scole of TSBT »

Dirk Broer wrote: Wed Oct 27, 2021 2:19 am I use PuTTY
PuTTY has remote desktop functionality, not just ssh?
Image
User avatar
Dirk Broer
Corsair
Corsair
Posts: 1687
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: Leiden, South Holland, Netherlands
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 34 times
Contact:

#6 Re: Remote Desktop Software

Post by Dirk Broer »

PuTTY lets you login to a computer in your network and gives you a command line. My Linux Odroid-N2+, my Banana Pi M2, Odroid-C1 and ASUS Tinker Board S are all administrated that way.

Image
Logon via PuTTY

Image
Htop via PuTTY
Image
User avatar
scole of TSBT
Boinc Major General
Boinc Major General
Posts: 5529
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 2:38 pm
Location: Goldsboro, (Eastern) North Carolina, USA
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 20 times

#7 Re: Remote Desktop Software

Post by scole of TSBT »

Yeah, SSH command line access isn't a problem. I actually use Bitvise SSH client. It has a GUI SFTP interface also. I'm posting about GUI desktop remote access.
Image
User avatar
Dirk Broer
Corsair
Corsair
Posts: 1687
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: Leiden, South Holland, Netherlands
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 34 times
Contact:

#8 Re: Remote Desktop Software

Post by Dirk Broer »

scole of TSBT wrote: Wed Oct 27, 2021 3:34 am Yeah, SSH command line access isn't a problem. I actually use Bitvise SSH client. It has a GUI SFTP interface also. I'm posting about GUI desktop remote access.
Perhaps this is something for you? https://sourceforge.net/software/produc ... ternatives

And actually, you can have a GUI using PuTTY and Xming https://www.centlinux.com/2019/01/confi ... ndows.html
Image
Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “BOINC Software Applications”